What’s Next?

Being at home brings up the same set questions from both friends and family members. When am I coming home? What will I do when I come home? Will I work or will I get a Masters degree? Am I dating anyone? Yes, it’s true! I bet all temporary ex-pats will feel me on that! Wanna know the answers to those questions? I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. Doesn’t seem to work out in my situation. Sound familiar? To tell you the truth, I’m unsure about almost everything regarding my future. Is that really such a bad thing? I’m open-minded and I’m eager to find some direction, but I know that it can’t be forced. Today I found a really interesting quote about one’s path.

“I see my path, but I don’t know where it leads. Not knowing where I’m going is what inspires me to travel it.” — Rosalia de Castro

This quote really got me thinking. Sometimes I get frustrated and upset that my peers have “got it together,” but what’s my rush? I have at least 7 more months in Spain before I set foot on American soil again and that is time to explore my options and see what I can come up with. I am the first one to say that I don’t “have it all together” when it comes to future plans, but I should congratulate myself on what I’ve already accomplished. I moved to a foreign country (alone), I speak a foreign language everyday (and sometimes more than one!), I live by myself, I’m a great worker, and lastly I am managing my money and working hard to support myself and the lifestyle that I want to have in Madrid. I’d say that those are great accomplishments and I should be very proud! The future accomplishments will come later… and boy will they be great!

 

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “What’s Next?

  1. Josh says:

    I like it 🙂 Keep your feet moving and the rest will come as it will.

  2. Here is where I comment. Here is where I comment. Here is where I comment.
    Here is where I comment. Here is where I comment. Here is where I comment.

    This could go on forever!

  3. Kellen says:

    Where will you be on May 18th? (wait, 19th I think by the time our flight gets there). We are flying into Madrid and then driving to Jerez then.

  4. Kellen says:

    Also, I woke up this morning thinking about how awesome it is that you are living in Spain having a good time instead of succumbing to the expected path of starting a job with a clear career path right after college. Appearing to “have it together” doesn’t really mean much in terms of really knowing the future.

    • Melanie says:

      Thanks so much! I enjoy it here, but it’s difficult being so far away from my family. I will be here until July 31st, so come visit! I’ll show you guys around if you’d like. Are you planing on staying in Madrid for a long time? Or are you just passing through quickly?

      • Kellen says:

        We are flying into Madrid and then… taking a train we hope? To Malaga. And then renting a car in Malaga. We may be able to stay in Malaga for a few hours or lunch or something though? I will send an email closer to time and maybe we can organize it.

  5. Gregory says:

    When do we get a new post?

Leave a Reply

